Is there a problem with board cookies?

Is there a problem with board cookies?

Postby Bigfella237 » Fri Feb 21, 2020 5:44 am

Is there a problem with board cookies at the moment or has something changed within the last 24 hours?

I keep getting logged-out, and the forum doesn't remember which posts I've read, basically it's stopped updating cookies.

I'm running the current version of Firefox. In fact, I think it updated itself yesterday, maybe there is a bug in the new FF update? I haven't noticed any problem on any other forums, but then again, this is the only forum I visit that's running this software.

Andrew
User avatar
Bigfella237
 
Posts: 1837
Joined: Fri Feb 26, 2010 3:11 pm
Location: In geosynchronous orbit above the Far South Coast of NSW, Australia

Re: Is there a problem with board cookies?

Postby Sigint » Fri Feb 21, 2020 7:24 am

I'm not having any problems. I'm not running Firefox.

--
Sigint
Sigint
 
Posts: 105
Joined: Sun Jan 24, 2010 10:44 pm

Re: Is there a problem with board cookies?

Postby sp00ner » Fri Feb 21, 2020 10:06 am

Working fine in Google Chrome v79
sp00ner
 
Posts: 1
Joined: Sat Aug 12, 2017 3:21 pm

Re: Is there a problem with board cookies?

Postby Scotty » Fri Feb 21, 2020 2:02 pm

No issue with Tapatalk either.
Scotty
 
Posts: 692
Joined: Sun Dec 20, 2009 2:50 am
Location: Sydney and surrounds

Re: Is there a problem with board cookies?

Postby system_tech » Mon Feb 24, 2020 10:43 am

IE 11 going ok.
system_tech
 
Posts: 260
Joined: Mon Aug 18, 2008 5:28 pm

Re: Is there a problem with board cookies?

Postby Garry » Mon Feb 24, 2020 9:46 pm

I keep being logged out also
Happily Scanning Since 1983
User avatar
Garry
 
Posts: 599
Joined: Sun Aug 17, 2008 7:09 pm
Location: Newcastle

Re: Is there a problem with board cookies?

Postby cartman » Tue Feb 25, 2020 3:51 am

No issues in Google (v79) and Windows 10 here
Professional Scanner nut. Ibis bin chicken of radio scraps
Scanners:
Uniden 325P2, Whistler TRX-1, GRE PSR800 x 2, Uniden 780 x 3, Uniden 796, Uniden 396 x 2, Uniden 246,
Software:
DSD v1.101, WinDSDv2, ADCR25 v5.10, Unitrunker, Trunkview
User avatar
cartman
 
Posts: 2055
Joined: Wed Aug 13, 2008 12:54 pm
Location: Liverpool, NSW, Australia

Re: Is there a problem with board cookies?

Postby Bigfella237 » Thu May 07, 2020 8:47 am

I think I FINALLY fixed the problem...

It appears the forum moved to a secured server (I'm guessing sometime in February?) but my browser only had the old insecure URL in the cookies/permissions list, as did the shortcut on my desktop.

I just changed both URLs from http:// to https:// and now it seems to log me in automatically again! WooHoo! What a PITA that was.

I guess I'd better update my HOSTS file too (I have it set with the forum's IP address so it connects without DNS lookup).

Andrew
User avatar
Bigfella237
 
Posts: 1837
Joined: Fri Feb 26, 2010 3:11 pm
Location: In geosynchronous orbit above the Far South Coast of NSW, Australia

Re: Is there a problem with board cookies?

Postby Bigfella237 » Sat May 23, 2020 9:37 am

Just to follow-up on the above, I'm still having some problems with this but it's something that needs to be fixed by the admin.

When I get an email advising of a new post in a watched thread, the links contained within that email are still the old "http:" insecure version, and if I click on them I'm back to the problem of needing to log in every time.

I assume there is a setting somewhere in the forum software for links sent in emails to have the secure "https:" prefix? Looks like that needs updating.

TIA,
Andrew
User avatar
Bigfella237
 
Posts: 1837
Joined: Fri Feb 26, 2010 3:11 pm
Location: In geosynchronous orbit above the Far South Coast of NSW, Australia

Re: Is there a problem with board cookies?

Postby citabria » Sun Jun 07, 2020 10:36 am

Hi all,

Two things have been implemented to fix this issue. The first is an automatic HTTP to HTTPS redirect, so people can no longer connect using plain HTTP. If they try, they will be redirected to HTTPS. Second, the links coming out in the email alerts have been changed to use the HTTPS prefix/protocol, so it should all be working fine again now.

Cheers,
Matt
citabria
Site Admin
 
Posts: 1036
Joined: Thu Aug 14, 2008 8:22 pm

Next

Return to Site Issues & Assistance

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest

cron

x